Saturday, December 29, 2012

Tourist Vacuumed at Sistine Chapel


















To protect Sistine Chapel Murals tourists will be cooled and vacuumed.

Story & photo via guardian> http://tinyurl.com/d6wdkrk




Aquadon Exposed!


















Berlin Aquadon in Raddison Hotel exposed! Guests are not allowed to scuba dive....

Story @ inhabitart> http://tinyurl.com/7zvt4v2

Restoration Blues


















Spider webs, insect droppings, and chewing gum. Is art for eternity? 

Story @ swissinfo> http://tinyurl.com/cvkgqtt

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

William Burroughs' Art


















Lemurs, gunshots, and allies --- William Burroughs' art at October Gallery in London. 

October Gallery> http://tinyurl.com/cfxzvup
Review @ hyperallercig> http://tinyurl.com/cqw8cbu
Perreault on Brion Gyson> http://tinyurl.com/ckmbs8u

When To Destroy Your Own Art


When should you destroy your own art? Or should you ever? Jasper Johns and Agnes Martin did. As did Monet. 

Photo: Susan Hiller, "Collected Works" (1967-1972).

Article at artnews> http://tinyurl.com/dyo24tq




Monday, December 24, 2012

First Artopia Bass Ackward Prize



Artopia's coveted Bass Ackward Prize goes to --- California! California just took arts funding off tax returns. California now is at the bottom of arts council funding, not Kansas, as reported. Kansas restored art funding in June.

LA Times story> http://tinyurl.com/c85j8hu
Kansas story> http://tinyurl.com/cmcdwgo




Pre-MoMA Modernism





















What was the The Société Anonyme? Find out all you need to know, including that Katherine Dreier, one of the founders, was sympathetic to Hitler and a theosophist. The other founders -- 1920 -- were Duchamp and Man Ray. Pix is Dreier's "Two Worlds." 

NYTimes review> http://tinyurl.com/cy57upj
Exhibition site> http://artgallery.yale.edu/socanon/

Sunday, December 23, 2012

Can Cows Make Art?

















On the light side --- cows (and deer) make art. Great Salt Lick Contest returns!

Txt & pix via npr> http://tinyurl.com/d7o8ho6



Friday, December 21, 2012

No Longer Art




 "No Longer Art: Salvage Art Institute" at Columbia Univ. Arch. Gallery. Closed yesterday. Damaged art, declared non-art by insurance companies. Very smart!

Essay @ hyperallergic> http://tinyurl.com/d222jch

Provisionalism




Provisionalist painting strikes! Is the unfinished look the new way out?
Pictured: David Hammons, "Untitled: (2011)

Via hyperallergic> artinamerica> http://tinyurl.com/ckknqhd

Transfer Bin Art Galleries in Ghent



Barge-to-truck transfer bins transformed into art galleries on the Ghent waterfront.

Via sutilitas.tumbler>http://rotordb.org/project/2012_Grindbakken_expo



Thursday, December 20, 2012

Andy's Maos Banned in China



















Warhol Mao paintings banned in China!

Via telegraph-uk> http://tinyurl.com/c6flboa




Euro-Australian and Indiginous Artists Collaborate















Appropriation of indigenous art by Euro-Australians yields controversies; but also --- on the bright side --- new cross-cultural collaborations.


See above:  "Hymn to the Night" by Michael Jagamara Nelson and Imants Tillers.

Story @ theaustralian> http://tinyurl.com/cgw3fps



Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Occupy Cooper Union's Parting Shot

















Students who occupied Cooper Union clock tower to protest the imposition of tuition to this traditionally free art school signed off with the tableau below.

Story and pix from hyperallergic> http://tinyurl.com/bolzos5




Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Problems in Performance Art

























Problems in performance art, in Bushwick. Picture is of Rachel Parry at Grace Exhibition Space. Yes, it's chocolate.
Essay and pix via hyperallergic> http://tinyurl.com/a8a73r2



Monday, December 17, 2012

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Hirst Jumps Ship














Damien Hirst leaves Gagosian Empire for parts unknown...also Koons from Gagosian to Zwirner. 

Via theatlanticwire> http://tinyurl.com/cuvwx2z

Armory Show Stamps Issued



USPS stamps to honor 1913 Armory show, including Duchamp's once-controversial "Nude Descending a Staircase." 

All 12 stamps> http://tinyurl.com/bqef2vq


Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Art Ruined at Westbeth

















Westbeth, NYC's pioneer artist-housing, is now an art graveyard, thanks to Hurricane Sandy. Bring back conceptual art!

Via NYT> http://tinyurl.com/armbz8t

Sunday, December 9, 2012

The End of Public Art














The end of public art? The artists can't do it, the public hates it, and it costs too much. 

Story via wsj> http://tinyurl.com/azgs7om


Dave Hickey Exposed!













Dave Hickey exposed. Was he in part responsible for what he now criticizes about the art world? Beauty indeed!

Via theartnewspaper> http://tinyurl.com/a9k4keg

Friday, December 7, 2012

Call for New Payphones.














Mayor Bloomberg calls for new payphone designs. Desperately needed for reperforming John Perreault's Street Work "Telephone Music" (1969) and hurricane emergencies.

Via inhabitat.com> http://tinyurl.com/a37e2n2

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Dave Brubeck (1920-2012)







Studens Occupy Cooper Union





















Students occupy Cooper Union clock tower, demanding resignation of president who will not defend the schools traditional free tuition, as mandated by founder.

Story via hyperallergic> http://tinyurl.com/d8j6yth



MOCA/USC Marriage?














MOCA-LA and USC partnering floated. Short term salvage for MOCA; long term L. A. hegemony for USC. Is this a good idea?

Story L.A. Times> http://tinyurl.com/br7hoat

The Truth About Rauschenberg Donation!





















Better version of the donation of the Rauschenberg to MoMA  Times buried IRS details. The heirs HAD TO DONATE IT. Read this and laff out loud. Or weep.

WSJ> http://tinyurl.com/cqzrafh

Monday, December 3, 2012

Saturday, December 1, 2012

Tape Poems at Sao Paulo Biennial

































As part of the Sao Paulo Biennial, Tape Poems, the first "publication" of works created specifically for stereo tape edited by Eduardo Costa / John Perreault and audio engineered by Alcides Lanza, New York, 1969, was played on Mobile Radio BSP, http://mobile-radio.net/  December 2nd, 2012.

Featuring: Vito Hannibal Acconci, Michael Benedikt, Scott Burton, Ted Castle & Leandro Katz, Eduardo Costa and John Giorno, Joseph Ceravolo, Dan Graham, Bernadette Mayer, John Perreault, Anne Waldman, Lewis Warsh and Hannah Weiner.

Time:
 Sao Paulo: 3 pm
 Barcelona: 6 pm
 Beijing: 1 am (Dec-3)
 Bombay: 10.30 pm
 Brussels: 6 pm
 Buenos Aires: 2 pm
 Cairo: 7 pm
 Caracas: 1 pm
 Hong Kong: 1 am (Dec-3)
 Lisbon: 5 pm
 London: 5 pm
 Los Angeles: 9 am
 Madrid: 6 pm
 México DF: 11 am
 Miami: 12 pm
 Minneapolis: 11 am
 New York: 12 pm
 Paris: 6 pm
 Prague: 6 pm
 Rio de Janeiro: 3 pm 
 Roma: 6 pm
 Salvador Bahía: 2 pm
 San Francisco: 9 am
 Santiago de Chile: 2 pm


"The works exist completely in terms of aural phenomenon, rather than in terms of visual systems of signs, thus beginning a new art of the tape recorder that has in common with written literature the fact that it refers to real language."

                               Eduardo Costa and John Perreault in An Introduction to Tape Poems, 1969.